Part 2- Peace in the Home

Likewise, teach the older woman to be reverent in the way they live, not to be slanders or addicted to much wine, but to teach what is good. Then they can train the younger woman to love their husbands and children, to be self-controlled and pure, busy at home, to be kind, and to be subject to their husbands, so that no one will malign the word of God.  Titus 2:3-5

After a lot of response to my Peace in the Home blog, I decided to blog another part to it. It was requested that I add some things that I do or have done to make sure when my husband comes home from work that he comes home to a peaceful enviroment.

*I never bombard Tracy (my husband) with issues when he first gets home. I usually like to see how is day went first.
*Junk mail does he really need to be bothered with this. Just go thru it and throw it away.
*When my kids were younger I always felt the need to make sure they were in a low-key enviroment when Dad walked in the door. So I would turn on PBS at 4:30 for Homework Hotline (my kids loved this show). They would watch it until dinner, which was always ready around 5:15-5:30.
*I always tried to make sure dinner is either cooking, ready or there is a plan by the time Tracy would get home.
*Spend time together at the dinner table. Make this a routine!
*My kids have chores. They help to make sure the house is tidied up before Dad gets home.
*This is a huge pet peeve of mine, never leave laundry folded all over the house, especially in the living room and dining room. I always wanted Tracy to be able to come home and either sit at the dining room table or on the living room couch and talk with his kids without being buried in clutter. How distracting is that? Now about laundry, I often will have folded laundry to be put away on my bed, LOL.

He gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak. Isaiah 40:29

These are just a few things that I have done over the years to help have peace in my home. As Mom you are you creating an atmosphere that is calm, secure and inviting? By God’s perfect design it is your primary domain of influence. I personally find fulfillment as a mother, only in the biblical pattern of motherhood.  I personally know that God has called me to serve my husband. Marriage means serving one another. Peace won’t happen overnight, you and your kids will have bad days and things will be off at times. Pray, trust the leading of the Holy Spirit and be consistent. With a little work you can bring peace to your home.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Christina

     /  February 7, 2012

    I love point number 1. I try to always see how Joe’s day is before I bombard him with stuff. I try to give him time to breathe. Yes we may have been in the house all day dealing with the kids and looking for an adult to talk to. But give him a minute to take in the peace of your home and dust of the world he was in. It is amazing the difference in response you will get.
    I also have the kids help me clean the house (pick up the clutter) before Joe comes home. I know I like to walk into a picked up house after a long day away. It helps me to relax.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

